Perhaps I Have the Wrong Cross

The gospel is not about what you do and it’s not about what I do.

This week especially, I’ve felt the weight of my sin.
It can be crippling and deafening.
It makes you hate yourself and hate the world.
It can make you feel guilty and shameful and not right with God.
Or at least that’s what it does to me.
Some days it is really hard to honor God and display his glory.
I want to. Oh how desperately I want to.
But before I know it I’m not.
I’m not even doing things I want to, only to look back later and realize it was mistake.
Instead, I do exactly what I don’t want to do.
To use Paul’s words,
“I do not understand what I do.
For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do” (Romans 7:15).
Then I get caught in this cycle;
Maybe if I spend more time in the Word, or pray more, or serve more or think more…
if only I could do more then I could be more.
But it’s all a lie. It is one big, fat, ugly, hideous, disgusting lie that satan wants us to believe.
Because ultimately, if it’s about what I do – even the bad things I do – then it’s not about Jesus and what He’s done.

The Gospel is not about what you do and it’s not about what I do. The Gospel is about what Jesus did on the cross.

He left Heaven, Glory and Perfection; not because He had.
Jesus did not die because I sin. I do, oh how I do, but that’s not the reason for his death.
If that were the case, sin would have power over Him.
He exchanged everything for nothing, holiness for lowliness.
He left it all because He loves us so.
He loved us.
He loved us.
At the cross hate meets Love, evil meets Perfection and sin meets Grace.
At the cross death meets Life. The grave meets defeat.

If I can approach the cross, overwhelmed by my sin and how bad I am, then perhaps I have the wrong cross.
And so with that in mind, I approach the cross and allow Christ’s grace to completely and totally wreck me. His love overwhelms me. He overwhelms me.

“For sin will have no dominion over you, since you are not under law but under grace.” (Romans 6:14)

The Gospel is not about what we do, it’s about what He did.

Happy Easter friends, may we boast in Him.

Author: Kaitlin

Lover of people, connoisseur of bagels, freelance photographer, founder of Wonderfully Made Clothing, follower of Jesus who's just trying to convince all of my friends to join Wonderfully Made and move overseas with me. Deeply burdened for the 3.07 billion unreached people in the world, I am elated for the opportunity to spend my life telling as many as possible about my Beautiful Savior. Join me in dreaming eternity centered dreams and venturing out on wild seas, may we both know and experience the love, grace and hope of Christ.

Leave a Reply

